Anne Miranda

children's book author

Tangled

From award-winning author Anne Miranda comes a rollicking rhyming story about an unruly gang of sixteen geometric shapes who get tangled in the neighborhood jungle gym until their friend comes to their rescue and order is restored. Perfect for fans of Chicka Chicka Boom Boom

One day a little circle, 
just as happy as could be, 
got caught inside a jungle gym, 
and couldn't wiggle free.

When the neighborhood shapes go climbing on the park jungle gym the last thing they expect is a tangle. First the circle, next the triangle and then the square. One by one soon all sixteen shapes are trapped. They push and pull and tumble and cry for help. Who will save them? One special shape can set the others free. Can you guess which one it is? This charming story makes learning the names of sixteen shapes as easy as a day in the park.

Highly Recommending
Here is a picture book that can stand beside CHICKA CHICKA BOOM BOOM. I love a picture book that rhymes as I think that is so essential for young readers to hear the cadence of the language and begin to understand words and letters. This book has the additional bonus of teaching about shapes as well. It is a story of the shapes working together to solve a problem. Each shape is introduced and the illustrations perfectly capture in a very simple way the story and what the shapes are feeling. Super cute!
— Jamie Southern, Bookmarks
When a little pink circle, sporting a wide grin and a line-drawn bow, gets trapped inside the jungle gym, her friends—all different shapes—try to help her get free, but one by one, they all get trapped as well. Soon, the town is in a complete frenzy, as more shapes gather to figure out how to free the group now hopelessly tangled. And then who should appear but a line, who, after carefully examining the situation from every angle, comes up with a mathematical solution. This is tailor-made for read-alouds; an engaging rhyme and energetic narrative, with some words set in bolder or more dynamic fonts (“What a horror! What a mess! / The shapes could not untwine. / Then rushing to the rescue, / came a straight and narrow line”), set the tone. Comstock’s retro monochromatic illustrations sneak in plenty of spatial and geometric concepts, and his cast of shapes has plenty of personality in their drawn-in facial expressions. A glossary of shapes provides opportunities for further learning in this bit of clever fun.

— Maggie Reagan
— Maggie Reagan , Book List Online
There are a couple little people enjoying the book currently! Even one kindergartner that said math was boring until he read your book! Thanks for your gift to the world!
— Reader
 
 

© Anne Miranda 2019 All rights reserved.